top of page
  • Writer's pictureNancy Johnson

Shape: Day 12

Updated: May 12, 2022

Today's theme is shape. I wanted to focus on a women's shape and how it can be beautiful in all shapes and sizes. What inspired me to do this shoot was a recent breakthrough in the fashion industry that some clothing brands have chosen to be more inclusive with their models shape. I love to see a more relatable sized models on the catwalk instead of the stereotypical 'skinny' and 'tall' model. Being more diverse with shape, race and gender identity. Its inspiring to see a industry that was so stuck in their ways branch out and show beautiful women of all different shapes. I believe its so much healthier for young people to see different representation and maybe help decrease eating disorders. They're many references I could include that have inspired me for this shoot such as an article from glamour: https://www.glamour.com/gallery/fashion-brands-extended-plus-sizes

But mainly I was inspired by the body positivity movement, 'body positivity is a social movement rooted in the belief that all human beings should have a positive body image, while challenging the ways in which society presents and views the physical body.'

If I was to do this shoot again I would like to do it with many other shapes and sizes of women.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page